The Creative Process #1 (This may also be a series.)

I am … currently piecing together a concept for a project.

It is a painful (or what constitutes as painful in my line of work – most of the time it’s just highly uncomfortable), slow process – like glueing together lego pieces on a football field. It looks like something, and it looks like there’s going to be potential, but nothing coherent is forming yet.

So I’m taking a break, because I’ve been at it for the last … 12 hours.

To be fair, I had to come up with two concepts, so the first one was arduously (again, what I perceive to be arduous when it isn’t that difficult) pieced together in six hours, maybe. And I started on my second concept a couple of hours ago. Halfway through though, I re-looked at it, and figured that it didn’t quite gel with the client’s projection. So I changed course.

And that can be discomforting, because it means scraping quite a bit, and starting with a semi-empty canvas.

Gah!

So now I’m just slowly stringing it together, trying to fit the small, minute pieces to form a bigger picture.

It’s really isn’t all terrible, though. At least I have a direction. It sucks when there’s no direction, or more like when I can’t figure out a direction, and stick to it. So I spend hours going around in circles, throwing proverbial idea doughs at the wall to see what sticks.

Mostly the idea doughs bounce off the wall, misshapen and sad-looking.

The words are there for me to piece this concept together, I just need to select the right ones – the optimal ones that properly and specifically describe my idea.

It’s not that difficult. Just highly uncomfortable.

Leave a comment